See Through

the life & times of a perpetual student

Keeping secrets.

I started something new today; something that has the potential to be awesome but will take some time to prove that.

I’ve noticed in the past when I start a new project, I get so super excited about it that I immediately announce it to the world on every social network and anyone else who will listen (whether it be signing up for a class, writing, making changes to my diet, etc.).

And then if my project stalls or fails completely, I’m left with that lost feeling. Someone might remember and ask, “Hey, how’s it going with that thing?” and then I have to explain that it didn’t work out. I hate that.

I always believed that if I tell everyone my plans, the support they offer will be enough to hold me accountable and fuel my motivation.

Not so. Perhaps that works for some, but it has never worked for me. Perhaps a -little- in the beginning, but then it dwindles off. People forget, and rightly so. It’s not their thing, it’s mine.

So today I found this article, and I saw a comment on the same article that really captured my attention:

“Talking about your project seems to spread your energy in every direction other than towards completion.”

So, I’m zipping it and will be interested to see if this actually works.

I hope that it does.

I hope I have good news to share very soon.

(disclaimer: I know, I know … I hate vague stuff too. But this is more of a psychological experiment than anything else.)

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Keeping secrets.

  1. A Novel Place on said:

    I am exactly like you in that way. I always get super excited about any new idea/venture that I always tend to tell everyone. But then when it doesn’t happen (which is most of the time), I feel disappointed in myself. Which is wrong because it’s, well, my life – but I always do.
    I’m excited to see what you’re going to do though =)

  2. Thank you! I hope this works out so I’ll have something good to report back.

    😀

    So far, so good!

Leave a Reply

