See Through

the life & times of a perpetual student

Friday Tunes – Girls.

I know I’ve shared this song before but it’s so good that I’m sharing it again.

I discovered Girls on Spotify when I was playing some “Best of 2011” playlist and I’m pretty sure it was this song that drew me in, but the whole album is just pure excellence. It’s not often I find an album that I don’t mind playing from start to finish.

Then I started reading about the guys in the band. Christopher Owens, the main writer & lead singer, has had a pretty interesting, albeit strange life which you can read about here. The short version: he was raised in the Children of God cult. Need I say more?

And my favorite part of the song is when he sings:

“Cause there’s something that I get from myself
And there’s something that you give to me
Well, I got one without the other
Well it’s not enough to be – I need your love

Come into my heart
Come into my heart
Come into my heart”

I couldn’t fathom why such a beautiful song would be titled Vomit, but then I read in a different interview it’s because of the Bible verse Owens was told often as a child, “As a dog returns to its vomit, so a fool repeats his folly.” So in the song he’s driving all over town searching for someone he can’t seem to get over, writing which Owens describes as “very real stuff”.

The same interview calls the album, Father, Son, Holy Ghost “the loveliest rock album of the year”. I happen to agree. And I just find the video visually stunning. I wouldn’t share it twice if it weren’t worth it.

What song has been in heavy rotation for you lately?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

