See Through

the life & times of a perpetual student

Shit Old Ladies Say.

My downstairs neighbor is an elderly woman. Every time I see her, she reminds me she is going to be 90 years old next month. Every time since like July of last year.  And she always says, “Now don’t tell anybody .. but I’m going to be 90 years old next month.”  Who would I tell? And who knows, she could be 112 and just hanging on to 90, kind of how I’m 36 but it’s fun to say every year on my birthday that I’m turning 29 again.

She can’t hear very well (read: AT ALL) so conversations with her end up being a lot of her talking, asking you a question, and then talking over you as you try to answer her. It’s hilarious and not at the same time. I’m not making fun .. it would suck to be nearly deaf but if I am ever her age, I hope I can live without assistance and get around on my own. She’s into herbalism, she paints, she’s an avid reader (she has a Nook!), & she’s very earthy. She’s not your typical almost 90-year-old.

The most recent conversation went like this:

Neighbor: Honey, I know you told me already, but tell me again, what are you studying?

Me: Radiography. X-ray tech.

Neighbor: OH, that’s right. I have a niece who is an x-ray tech. She says the worst part of her job is having to lift all those really fat people up onto the table.

Me: Yeah, I’d say that would be hard —

Neighbor: OH BUT HONEY I HOPE YOU DIDN’T TAKE OFFENSE TO THAT!! I’m talking 300 – 400 lb people .. PEOPLE WAY BIGGER THAN YOU!!

o.O

Nothing like a little quality conversation with an almost 90-year-old.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

