See Through

the life & times of a perpetual student

Friday Tunes – Mango Walk

Currently I am plagued by something very painful.

CHRISTMAS SONG EARWORMS.

All it takes is the mere mention of “Do They Know It’s Christmas?” and I am done for. I don’t even have to hear it. Just seeing those words, typed on a screen, or said out loud, and BAM! It’s in my head for days, and the lyrics are so god awful. Not sure what they were smoking when they thought it was a good idea to belt out:

“And there won’t be snow in Africa this Christmas time
The greatest gift they’ll get this year is life
Where nothing ever grows
No rain nor rivers flow
” .. 

Let’s analyze this line by line:

Line 1: Well, no shit Sherlock. And about a million other places too. Sign me up, because snow kinda sucks. I grew up in Ohio. I’ve had my fill!

Line 2: You make it sound like such a bummer. I’d prefer that any day over snow or some cheap, crappy plastic thing from Wal-Mart.

Line 3: Nothing? Are you sure about that?

Line 4: I’m pretty sure there are rivers in Africa.

(but it’s not just the Band Aid song that gets stuck in my head. See also: All I Want for Christmas is YouChristmas Don’t be Late by Alvin & the Chipmunks, and maybe the worst one of all time, Last Christmas by Wham!)

Anyway, how does one get these evil earworms to go away?

By listening to a kickass playlist I found on Spotify titled, “Breaking Bad“.

The first song on the playlist hit the spot. The evil earworm pissed off right away. Give it a listen.

What’s stuck in your head today? And if it’s one of the annoying Christmassy ones, what are you curing it with?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment